Report reaching liveschoolnews domain has it that, Three hundred and thirty four Engineering students of the University of Abuja (UNIABUJA) who have battled with non-accreditation of their programme, are to be transferred to six federal universities where they would graduate from.

The students who have protested severally, even refusing to allow other students of the university writesecond semester examinations, would be transferred to University ofIlorin, Federal University of Technology Akure, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi and Modibbo Adama University of Technology Adamawa.

Three sets of 500 level final year students would spend one year at the Federal University of Technology Minna upon which they would graduate with a certificate from the University of Abuja.

Chairman of the Task Team UniAbujaand Director Quality Assurance of theNUC Professor Chiedu Mafiana announced the decision to transfer the students on Tuesday after a meeting with vice chancellors of the universities involved.

Mafiana however said students who do not possess the requisite five credits including Mathematics and English or did not qualify to gain admission from inception would not be transferred.

He said those students had the option of changing their course of study within the University of Abuja.
On anticipated protests from the affected students Mafiana said, “It was the senate of the university that approached us with this request and it pre-supposes they (students) already knew where we are going.

If there are persons still spoiling for war it would mean that some of them were not qualified ab initio.”

Source: dailytrust

Share this information with your friends.

Follow liveschoolnews on facebook and twitter

About the author


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.