The National Universities Commission has denied eleven private universities full operational license due to the institutions inability to meet up with accreditation requirements.

The Executive Secretary of the Commission Professor Julius Okojie in Abuja on Thursday said that the Commission has given the eleven Universities extension of 2years to re-access its staff strength to student ratio and its facilities in order to get full accreditation for all their programmes.

Professor Okojie who also presented full operational license to Veritas University, Afe Babalola university, Nigeria Turkish Nile University and six other priivate universities said that the NUC do not only monitor the activities of universities in Nigeria but also inspects and penalise through the accreditation process .

“Interim accreditation was given for 3years, then we visited and inspected the university`s facilities, staff quality and distributions especially in parameter structure,we also check the governance structure and requirements and the hectares of their land if its 100 hectares”

“Precisely accreditation is a monitoring process which enables the commission to keep academic programmes of a university in check and for necessary advice to be given if any challenge arise”Okojie added.

Responding on behalf of the 9 Universities ,the Vice Chancellor of Caleb University, Professor Ayodeji Olukoju ,said private universities is a way forward for Nigeria. He said since interim licenses were offered the institutions had focused on academic programme development, system development and infrastructural development.

“Private University is presently contributing to National development”

Speaking on the assisting fund and establishment of Education Development Bank, the Registrar of Rhema university, Dr Emmanuel Doughdough urged the Federal Government to introduce the Education Bank into the sector to help both private and public universities draw single digit loan and to also help students access loan.

Okojie responded that the establishment act of university Cap. E3 2004: federal government encourage private sector in establishment of universities and this law empowered the NUC to find out if their will be sustainance of fund for the aspired institution.

The private universities can equally benefit from the government through its ACE programme ” we have about 3 universities currently drawing from this Fund from world Bank for research development”

He added that the universities can equally benefit from the N3b FG/TETFund sponsored research grant.
“We should also remember that the federal government equally provide adequate security” Professor Okojie added.

Universities that received full license includes; Caleb University, Salem University, Veritas University, Afe Babalola University, Godfrey Okoye University, Adeleke University, Western Delta University.

Universities with 2 years extension; Wesley University of Science,Landmark University, Rhema University, Samuel Adegboyega University,Paul University,Oduduwa University, Tanzania University, Baze University, Obong University, Achievers University and Well Spring University.

Stay updated with all Nigeria University news, Polytechnic news, Post-Utme and more; Join/Like Us now on Facebook and Twitter

Don’t forget to share this news with your friends using the Share buttons below….

About the author


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Fatal error: Uncaught wfWAFStorageFileException: Unable to save temporary file for atomic writing. in /home/pauljosef/ Stack trace: #0 /home/pauljosef/ wfWAFStorageFile::atomicFilePutContents('/home/pauljosef...', '<?php exit('Acc...') #1 [internal function]: wfWAFStorageFile->saveConfig('livewaf') #2 {main} thrown in /home/pauljosef/ on line 35