Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, on Tuesday announced the reduction in school fees in all the state-owned tertiary institutions.

Ibikunle Amosun who said he had earlier met with the leadership of various Student’s union and heads of the institutions over the issue, ordered that the new fees regime takes immediate effect from the 2014/2015 academic session.

In the new school fees regime, which would take effect from the 2014/2015 academic session, some students would pay 61 per cent less than they are currently paying, while some others would be pay as low as N29,700.

The reduction was arrived at after an extensive deliberation between the government, leadership of the various Students’ Unions and heads of the institutions.

Also, the new school fees regime has abolished the indigene/non-indigene dichotomy as all students offering the same course and the same level will pay the same fees.

In a statement signed by the Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Mr. Segun Odubela, the government stated that medical students of Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), who are paying N301,610 will now be paying N176,596, a 41.4 per cent reduction.

Also, students of the Faculty of Arts in the same university will be paying N81,112 instead of the current fee of N126,540, a 35.9 per cent reduction.

At the Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta, the school fees has been reduced from N71,300 to N40,000 for Higher National Diploma (HND) while Ordinary National Diploma (OND) students will enjoy a reduction of N22,300, a reduction of between 31.1 per cent and 9.6 per cent respectively.

Students of the Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED) will enjoy a reduction from N103,435 for the first year to N75,000, representing 27.5 per cent reduction, while returning students who are paying N93,465 will now be pay N65,000, representing a 30.4 per cent reduction.

Higher National Diploma (HND) students of Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa, who are currently paying N118,000 will now be paying N46,000, a reduction of 61 per cent.

The reduction of fees will also apply to the other three Institutes of Technology owned by the state government.

The state government has also donated 13 buses to the Students’ Unions of all state and federal institutions in the state.

Also to benefit from this largesse is the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS), Ogun State chapter.

Government further stated that it would always protect the interest of the students as they are the future leaders of the nation.

Stay updated with all Nigeria University news, Polytechnic news, Post-Utme, Jamb Results and more; Join/Like Us now on Facebook and Twitter

Don’t forget to share this news with your friends using the Share buttons below…

About the author


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.